a new year

2013 2

I hope you had a merry Christmas and are enjoying this beautiful New Year. I had a bit of a rough December. I was sick for most of the month, and then got especially sick on Christmas Eve. My family actually had to postpone Christmas on my behalf. That made me so sad. But I am doing better now, and I discovered that there are some definite perks to prolonging the Christmas season.

I am still in a New Year’s mindset, as I’ve had to go at a slower pace than usual. So before I get started on my projects for 2014, I thought I’d look back on some of the things I made last year.

2013 was really a return to sewing for me. I dusted off my sewing machine and set up a little craft room in my attic. This was definitely a learning year for me. There were lots of bumps along the road (and unpicked stitches), but I rediscovered the thrill of making something new from fabric and thread.

To that end, I decided to create a couple collages of some of the sewing projects I made in 2013. 2013 collage

Before I got started on any sewing for the new year, I had to finish my traditional first project of the year- a new calendar.

A few years ago, I started printing off some of my photos from the year with a calendar template to give to family and friends. This year, I only gave a very few and decided to make things easier on myself and got them printed at Walgreens.

calendar 2014

And here are some of the calendars from years gone by.

IMG_0337IMG_4408IMG_4417IMG_6172

Wishing you happiness in 2014!

5 thoughts on “a new year

  1. Happy New Year! I’m sorry to hear that you were sick during the holiday season, I hope you’re all better now. I’m definitely looking forward to seeing more of your posts throughout this year, everything you make is so lovely.

Leave a Reply

