a tale of two samplers

IMG_8388 - Version 2

A month or two ago, I was browsing a local thrift shop when a Christmas cross-stitch kit happened to catch my eye. I recognized it immediately as one my mom had made many years ago. And although the package was tattered, it had never been opened. So I decided to purchase it and make a matching one for my home.

I spent a few nights stitching away in front of Christmas movies, and was happy that the sampler was a swift and stress-free project. After I finished, I showed the kit to my mom, and she remarked that mine came with a red frame, whereas hers was in a green frame. But neither of us realized that the patterns were actually slightly different until she brought hers out of storage for us to compare.

I think they are definitely from the same era, series, or manufacturer, and I like that they are not identical but still linked. You see, my mom lost interest in sewing before I was born, so we never did any projects together, but now it sort of feels like we have!

IMG_8395

 

IMG_8391

I’ve also been sewing lots of Christmas bows.

IMG_3376

And packaging up ornaments and candies for little Christmastime gifts.

IMG_3800

We got our first real snow yesterday. Time to bundle up, stay cozy, and keep stitching!

2 thoughts on “a tale of two samplers

  1. What a lucky find at the thrift shop! It’s wonderful that your mother still had hers, I love the picture of the two side by side. This post really made me feel nostalgic for a cross stitch kit that my grandmother gave me as a young girl. And when I see your bows it really makes me wish I could sew!

    • Thank you for your comment. You know, I haven’t done much cross-stitch before, but it was really rewarding because I felt a connection to my mother and grandmother. I hadn’t done much sewing either for many years, but I’m really enjoying getting back in to it.

Leave a Reply

