better late than never

IMG_6117

I have a habit in life of wanting to wait until conditions are perfect to start something. I try to put a lot of care and thought into projects, but more often than not, my habit is simply an excuse to put things off.

A good example of this would be the case of some fabric I purchased several (ahem) years ago. It was a charming and whimsical print featuring a knight, a boy, and his friendly dragon. I especially liked the scenes of them reading books and letters together. The fabric reminded me of my older brother, and I thought it would make a nice quilt if he were to have kids of his own some day.

IMG_6121

Well, fast forward a few years and I had nephew. I really wanted to use the fabric for a baby quilt, but that never happened. In my defense, it was hard to find a pattern suited to the size of the print, and I was fairly busy in school. And then I moved away to college and lived in a tiny apartment with no sewing machine, etc, etc, etc.

IMG_6122

In truth I guess I was really waiting until I felt I was competent enough in my sewing to be worthy of the fabric. (I have this feeling a lot). But after getting back into sewing this year, I suddenly didn’t want to wait anymore. And even though I made zero full sized quilts in the years since I purchased the fabric, I decided to forge ahead and do my best to finally make this quilt for nephew’s eighth (eek!) birthday.

It is not perfect. Not at all. But I did get it done in time for his birthday (give or take eight years). I must say, it feels quite nice to have made something, anything, out of this fabric I’d kept forever, neatly folded in the back of a closet.IMG_6134

I realize that my sewing machine is not quite up to the task of machine quilting, and I didn’t have the time to hand quilt it. Still, I am pretty excited about doing another quilt now. Probably a more girly, pastel one for myself. It will be good practice, because I still have a lot to learn!

*Here is a link to the tutorial I used.

Leave a Reply

